Skip to main content
Start main content

Strategic Moves, Quick Facts and Achievements

Distinguished Research Achievement Award

The Distinguished Research Achievement Award is the University's highest research honour. Awards are made to outstanding researchers who have achieved international distinction and to be at the forefront of their chosen field only once every two years.

Professor Guochun ZhaoEarth Sciences2021
Professor Ngaiming MokMathematics2011
Professor Vivian W W YamChemistry2007
Professor F C ZhangPhysics2005
Professor H TongStatistics and Actuarial Science2002
Professor Chi Ming CheChemistry2000

Outstanding Researcher Award

The Outstanding Researcher Award is conferred for exceptional research achievements of international merit, supported by documented evidence of the quality and quantity of candidates' research publications, their ability to attract research grants and their involvement in high-impact applied research work.

Professor Xiang David LiChemistry2023
Professor Xuechen Li Chemistry2018
Professor Xiaodong CuiPhysics2017
Professor Guochun Zhao Earth Sciences2016
Dr Wang YaoPhysics2015
Professor Hailiang YangStatistics and Actuarial Science2014
Professor Shunqing ShenPhysics2013
Professor G K Y ChanChemistry2012
Professor W ZangMathematics2011
Professor H SunChemistry2010
Professor J WangPhysics2009
Professor W T WongChemistry2008
Professor M L ChyeBiological Sciences2007
Professor D L PhillipsChemistry2006
Dr B K C ChowZoology2005
Professor J G MalpasEarth Sciences2004
Professor D YangChemistry2003
Professor W K LiStatistics and Actuarial Science2002
Professor T W K FungStatistics and Actuarial Science2001
Professor Z D WangPhysics2001

Outstanding Young Researcher Award

The Outstanding Young Researcher Award is made to academic staff at the rank of Associate Professor and below the age of 40, who demonstrates outstanding research accomplishments of international recognition, involvement in high-impact applied research work and ability to attract research grants.

Professor Junzhi LiuChemistry2023
Dr Yufeng WangChemistry2022
Dr Binzheng ZhangEarth Sciences2022
Dr Zhiwen ZhangMathematics2021
Dr Timothy Carlton BonebrakeBiological Sciences2020
Dr Ho Yu Au YeungChemistry2020
Dr Neil Ryan McKenzieEarth Sciences2020
Dr David M BakerBiological Sciences2019
Dr Ben Kane Mathematics2018
Dr Shizhong ZhangPhysics2017
Dr Jinyao TangChemistry2017
Dr Xiang David LiChemistry2016
Dr Moriaki YasuharaBiological Sciences2015
Dr Xuechen LiChemistry2014
Dr Liu ZhonghuiEarth Sciences2013
Dr Wang YaoPhysics2013
Dr M WangBiological Sciences2012
Dr X CuiPhysics2010
Dr W Y LuiBiological Sciences2009
Dr P H ToyChemistry2008
Dr A S T WongBiological Sciences2007
Dr A B DjurišićPhysics2006
Dr T W NgMathematics2006
Dr H Z SunChemistry2005
Dr W K ChanChemistry2004
Dr M F ZhouEarth Sciences2004
Dr J T YuMathematics2003
Dr S F ChenBotany2003
Dr G H ChenChemistry2002
Professor S M S LeeStatistics and Actuarial Science2002
Dr M SunEarth Sciences2001
Dr K P NgMathematics2001

Outstanding Research Student Supervisor Award

The Outstanding Research Student Supervisor Award is granted in recognition of supervisors of research postgraduate students whose guidance has been of particular help to their students in the pursuit of research excellence. Awards are open to teachers who have served as supervisors of research postgraduate students.

Professor David DudgeonBiological Sciences2020
Professor Wai Ki ChingMathematics2019
Professor Kenneth M Y LeungBiological Sciences2016
Professor Hongzhe SunChemistry2013
Dr Meifu ZhouEarth Sciences2008
Professor S F ChenBotany2006
Professor W T WongChemistry2003
Dr F C C LeungZoology2002
Professor W K LiStatistics and Actuarial Science2000

Research Output Prize

The Research Output Prize is a Faculty-based award that accords recognition to an author (or team of authors) of a single piece of research output published. Such output items can take in the form of publications, artistic productions or patents.


*HKU members

NameResearch PaperYear
Chen, Wei*, Xinshun*, Lin, Jingyang*, He, Yanling*, Djurišić, Aleksandra B.*,& other researchers"Monolithic perovskite/organic tandem solar cells with 23.6% efficiency enabled by reduced voltage losses and optimized interconnecting layer", Nature Energy, 2022, 7(3), 229–237 2023
Pengwei Xu*, Zhongxing Huang*“Catalytic reductive desymmetrization of malonic esters”, Nature Chemistry, 2021, Vol. 13, pp. 634-642 2022
C.A. Tang, A.A.G. Webb*, W.B. Moore, Y.Y. Wang, T.H. Ma, T.T. Chen“Breaking Earth’s shell into a global plate network”, Nature Communications, 2020, Vol. 11, 36212021
L.A. Ashton*, H.M. Griffiths, C.L. Parr, T.A. Evans, R.K. Didham, F. Hasan, Y.A. Teh, H.S. Tin, C.S. Vairappan, P. Eggleton“Termites mitigate the effects of drought in tropical rainforest”, Science, 2019, Vol. 363, Issue 6423, pp. 174–1772020
Xin Li*, Xiao-Meng Li*, Yixiang Jiang*, Zheng Liu*, Yiwen Cui*, Ka Yi Fung*, Stan H. E. van der Beelen*, Gaofei Tian*, Liling Wan, Xiaobing Shi, C. David Allis, Haitao Li, Yuanyuan Li, Xiang David Li*"Structure-guided development of YEATS domain inhibitors by targeting π-π-π stacking", Nature Chemical Biology, 2018, Vol. 14, pp. 1140-11492019
Joseph R. Michalski*, Eldar Z. Noe Dobrea, Paul B. Niles & Javier Cuadrosn"Ancient hydrothermal seafloor deposits in Eridania basin on Mars”, Nature Communications volume 8, Article number: 15978 (2017)2018
Jun Li*, Cecilia Ying Ju Sung*, Nikki Lee*, Yueqiong Ni, Jussi Pihlajamäki*, Gianni Panagiotou*, Hani el-Nezami*"Probiotics modulated gut microbiota suppresses hepatocellular carcinoma growth in mice”, Proceedings of the National Academy of Science, 2016, Vol. 113, No.9, pp. E1306 – E13152017
Jason R. Ali*, Jonathan C. Aitchison"Exploring the Combined Role of Eustasy and Oceanic Island Thermal Subsidence in Shaping Biodiversity on the Galápagos", Journal of Biogeography, 2014, 41(7): 1227–1241"2015
Zhirui Gong, Gui-Bin Liu, Hongyi Yu, Di Xiao, Xiaodong Cui*, Xiaodong Xu and Wang Yao*"Magnetoelectric effects and valley-controlled spin quantum gates in transition metal dichalcogenide bilayers", Nature Communications 2013, 4: 20532014
Dr Moriaki Yasuhara, School of Biological Sciences and Department of Earth Sciences'Latitudinal species diversity gradient of marine zooplankton for the last three million years', Ecology Letters, Volume 15, No. 10, October 2012 pp. 1174-11792013
Professor K W Ng, Patrick S C Poon Professor in Statistics and Actuarial Science* who has co-authored a book with Dr Gary G L Tian'Dirichlet and Related Distributions: Theory, Methods and Applications', published by John Wiley & Sons Ltd, New York in June, 20112012
Professor W Zang* Other authors include Xujin Chen and Zhibin Chen."A Unified Approach to Box-Mengerian Hypergraphs" in Mathematics of Operations Research Vol. 35, No. 3 (August 2010), 655-6682011
Jessica Y.S. Chu*, Leo T.O. Lee*, C.H. Lai*, H. Vaudry, Y.S. Chan*, W.H. Yung, Billy K.C. Chow*.'Secretin as a Neurohypophysial Factor Regulating Body Water Homeostasis', Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences USA (PNAS), 20092010
Professor T W K Fung and Dr Y Q HuStatistical DNA Forensics: Theory, Methods and Computation, published by England: John Wiley & Sons, Ltd. (2008), 262 pages2009
Professor J T Yu* and Professor Vesselin Drensky'The Strong Anick Conjecture is True', published in Journal of the European Mathematical Society, 9 (2007), 659-6792008
Dr P Chiu*, Dr Geng Zhe and Dr Chen Bin'Total Synthesis of Pseudolaric Acid A', published in Angewandte Chemie-International Edit/page/detail/350#2007ion, 45, 37 (2006), 6,197-2012007
Professor Ngaiming Mok"Prolongation of infinitesimal linear automorphisms of projective varieties and rigidity of rational homogeneous spaces of Picard number 1 under Kahler deformation" published in Inventiones Mathematicae (2005)2006