Skip to main content
Start main content


06 Jan 2022

Three Faculty members received awards under the HKU Outstanding Researcher Awards Scheme 2020 - 21

    From the left: Dr Zhiwen Zhang, Prof Guochun ZHAO and Dr Alex WEBB.

    From the left: Dr Zhiwen Zhang, Prof Guochun ZHAO and Dr Alex WEBB.

    Congratulations to our academics for their receiving of the University’s awards for research excellence under the Outstanding Researcher Awards Scheme 2020-21, in which Professor Guochun ZHAO was awarded the highest honour ‘Distinguished Research Achievement Award (DRAA)’ for his exceptional contributions in his research in precambrian geology, metamorphic geology and supercontinents in Earth’s history.

    The list of award recipients is appended as follows: 

    Distinguished Research Achievement Award (DRAA) - Professor Guochun ZHAO, Department of Earth Sciences

    Outstanding Young Researcher Award (OYRA) - Dr Zhiwen ZHANG, Department of Mathematics 

    Research Output Prize (ROP) - Faculty of Science - Dr Alex WEBB, Department of Earth Sciences

    *Details of the awarded journal paper: 'Breaking Earth's shell into a global plate network', Nature Communications, 2020, Vol. 11, 3621 by C.A. Tang, A.A.G. Webb*, W.B. Moore, Y.Y. Wang, T.H. Ma, T.T. Chen.

    Professor Max SHEN, the Vice-President and Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research) of HKU extended his heartfelt congratulations to the award recipients on their outstanding achievements, 'They are role models for all academics of HKU while we are gearing for excellence, quality and impact in the research, innovation and knowledge transfer endeavours.' 

    The Outstanding Researcher Awards scheme aims to recognise, honour and reward exceptional work in research by staff of the University. The scheme includes the Distinguished Research Achievement Award (DRAA), Outstanding Researcher Award (ORA), Outstanding Young Researcher Award (OYRA), Outstanding Research Student Supervisor Award (ORSSA), and Research Output Prize (ROP).

    The DRAA, ORA and OYRA are awards made to recognise individuals for their outstanding research accomplishments. The ORSSA is to recognise exemplary and effective supervisory guidance and support to their research postgraduate students. The ROP is a Faculty-based award to honour the best research output from each Faculty.