Skip to main content
Start main content


26 Aug 2021

Honoring staff members with outstanding performance in research, teaching and knowledge exchange (KE)

    HKU Science has long committed to advancing the excellence of research and teaching, as well as promoting knowledge transfer. We are pleased to announce that many of our members are recognised for their efforts and  dedication in different areas for the past year.


    The Faculty has set up awards to recognise the outstanding performance of members in the Faculty. The Award for Teaching Excellence, Award for Teaching Innovations in E-learning and Excellence Teaching Assistant Award are established to recognise excellence in teaching in the Faculty, while the Award for Outstanding Professional Services Staff is to recognise, reward and promote excellent performance among professional services staff.


    Other recognition includes the Faculty Knowledge Exchange (KE) Award, which honours dedicated Faculty member with outstanding KE accomplishment in his or her own area. We also have Faculty-based Research Output Prize that accords recognition to an author (or team of authors) of a single piece of research output published.


    Please join us to share the joy of the following recipients:


    University Awards
    Research Output Prize 2020
    Dr Louise A ASHTONDr Louise A ASHTON, Assistant Professor, School of Biological Sciences
    Faculty Knowledge Exchange (KE) Award 2021
    Professor Hongzhe SUNProfessor Hongzhe SUN, Norman and Cecilia Yip Professorship in Bioinorganic Chemistry & Professor: Chair of Chemistry, Department of Chemistry
    Faculty Awards
    Award for Teaching Excellence 2020-2021
    Dr Rachel K W LUIDr Rachel K W LUI, Senior Lecturer, Faculty of Science
    Award for Teaching Innovations in E-learning 2020-2021
    Professor Pauline CHIUProfessor Pauline CHIU, Professor, Department of Chemistry
    Excellent Teaching Assistant Awards 2020-2021
    Mr Abdullah Nawabjan SHAIK, PhD Student, School of Biological Sciences
    Mr Thomas WongMr Thomas H T WONG, MPhil Student, Department of Physics
    Award for Outstanding Professional Services Staff 2020-2021
    Mr Man Fai LEEMr Man Fai LEE, Senior Clerk, Faculty of Science
    Congratulations to them all!