Skip to main content
Start main content

Strategic Moves, Quick Facts and Achievements


Distinguished Mathematician Professor Ngaiming MOK being awarded the Chern Prize

Congratulations to Professor Ngaiming MOK, Edmund and Peggy Tse Professor in Mathematics and Chair of Mathematics at The University of Hong Kong (HKU), for his being awarded the Chern Prize presented by The 9th International Consortium of Chinese Mathematicians (ICCM). In the citation, Professor Mok was awarded the Chern Prize ‘for his important contributions in several complex variables and complex differential geometry leading to solutions of difficult geometric problems on quotients of bounded symmetric domains arising from number theory’.

Professor Mok is a top-notch mathematician specialising in Several Complex Variables, Complex Differential Geometry and Algebraic Geometry. He is well-known in the mathematical community for his global perspective in Pure Mathematics and for having solved a series of important conjectures and problems using a combination of analytic, algebraic and geometric methods. Professor Mok has received many distinctions and awards, including the Bergman Prize of the American Mathematical Society, USA in 2009 and was elected a member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences and the Hong Kong Academy of Sciences in 2015 and 2017 respectively.

About the Chern Prize 

The Chern Prize in mathematics was established by International Congress of Chinese Mathematicians (ICCM) in 2001 in honor of Professor Shing-Shen Chern, one of the greatest geometers and Chinese mathematicians of the twentieth century. The Chern Prize is presented every three years to mathematicians of Chinese descent who have made exceptional contributions to mathematical research or to public service activities in support of mathematics. 

About Professor Ngaiming Mok

Professor Mok was a graduate of St. Paul's Co-educational College in 1975. He obtained his PhD at Stanford University in 1980 and embarked on his teaching and research career at Princeton University. Subsequently, he was Professor at Columbia University and University of Paris, before returning to Hong Kong in 1994 to take up a Chaired Professorship in the Department of Mathematics at HKU.

Professor Mok is recognised worldwide for his research achievements. The prestigious awards he received include the Sloan Fellowship Award (US), Presidential Young Investigator Award (US), Croucher Award 1998 (Hong Kong), State Natural Science Award (Class II) 2007 (China), and the Bergman Prize of the American Mathematical Society 2009. Professor Mok served on the Editorial Board of Inventiones Mathematicae from 2002 to 2014. He served as a member of the Fields Medal Committee for the world's prestigious International Congress of Mathematicians (ICM) in 2010, and was a core member for the subject panels of Algebraic and Complex Geometry in ICM 2006, and in Analysis and its Applications in ICM 2014. As Director of the Institute of Mathematical Research at HKU, Professor Mok also strives at providing a platform where researchers in Mathematics can freely exchange their research ideas, and create an ambiance which facilitates the cross-fertilisation between different fields of Mathematics. He was elected a Member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (Mathematics and Physics) in 2015, and later a Member of the Hong Kong Academy of Sciences in 2017.

Professor Ngaiming MOK

Professor Ngaiming MOK

Department of Mathematics