About Us - Infrastructure

The six departments/school in the Faculty currently occupy space in the following buildings in the main campus: Chong Yuet Ming Chemistry Building, Chong Yuet Ming Physics Building, Hui Oi Chow Science Building, James Hsioung Lee Science Building, Kadoorie Biological Sciences Building, Meng Wah Complex, and Run Run Shaw Building. Together with the off-campus facilities in Cyberport and the Swire Institute of Marine Science, the Faculty’s current space provision is approximately 20,000 m2. By 2012, the number of undergraduate science students will increase by 25%. The Faculty is seeking new teaching and research space to cope with this expansion.

The Stephen Hui Geological Museum is the first geological museum in Hong Kong. A comprehensive mineral collection from all over the world collected and donated by Dr Stephen Hui forms the core of the Earth Material display. The mission of the museum is to inspire an understanding and appreciation of the dynamic natural world of Earth Sciences, and its application to our daily life and to provide an attractive object-based learning laboratory for the nature and evolution of our planet to visitors of all ages.

The Swire Institute of Marine Science is an off-campus research facility on marine biology situated in the only marine reserve of Hong Kong in the scenic Cape d’Aguilar.